Cultural heritageCultural heritage

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Russia. Part 3


We continue the most interesting review of UNESCO World Heritage sites located on the territory of Russia.

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Russia. Part 1

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Russia. Part 2

21. Church of the Ascension of the Lord in Kolomenskoye

The Church of the Ascension of the Lord is located in Kolomenskoye in Moscow and was included in the UNESCO World Heritage List due to the fact that it became the first stone tent church in Russia. The place for the Church of the Ascension was not chosen by chance. It was located on a steep bank, at the base of which there was a key, which was considered miraculous.

Church of the Ascension of the Lord in Kolomenskoye

22. Kazan Kremlin

The Kazan Kremlin was included in the UNESCO Heritage List for three reasons. The first reason why the organization's competition jury made this decision was the fact that over the years of its existence, the Kremlin has influenced the historical continuity of the cultures of the two peoples. The second argument in favor of the heart of the capital of Tatarstan, officials called the exceptional antiquity of the only surviving Tatar fortress. The third argument of the commission was that the architecture of the building is a synthesis of Bulgarian, Horde, Tatar, Italian and Russian styles.

23. Ferapontov Belozersky Monastery

Ferapontov Belozersky Monastery is known for the fact that frescoes of the end of the 15th century, executed by Dionysius with his sons Theodosius and Vladimir, have been preserved in it almost unchanged. This is the only church in Russia that has preserved such ancient frescoes created by the greatest painter of his time. The attraction is located in the Vologda region.

View of the Ferapontov Monastery

24. Citadel, old town and fortress buildings of Derbent

Derbent is the oldest city in the Russian Federation. Its history dates back five millennia – it was then, back in the Bronze Age, that a small settlement appeared at this place, according to archaeologists. Later, one of the most important maritime trade routes with a unique and convenient access to the Caspian Sea was located here.

25. Novodevichy Monastery

The Orthodox Stavropol Women's Novodevichy Monastery is located in Moscow on Devichy Pole. When the monastery ensemble was included in the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2004, it was in use by the State Historical Museum, and in 2010 it was transferred to the Moscow Diocese. The entire monastery complex consists of 14 buildings, 8 of which are temples, and the remaining 6 are residential and outbuildings.

26. The historical center of Yaroslavl

The architectural monuments on the territory of the historical center of Yaroslavl represent all the artistic styles that have existed in Russia over the past five centuries. On a relatively small area there are 140 architectural monuments included in the UNESCO World Heritage List

Yaroslavl. Church of Elijah the Prophet

27. The Bulgarian settlement

The Bulgarian settlement is located near the modern city of Bolgar in the Spassky district of Tatarstan on a high, indigenous promontory formed by the Melenka River and a deep ravine. Stone buildings of the second half of the XIII–XIV centuries have been preserved: the Cathedral Mosque, the Northern and Eastern mausoleums, the Small Minaret, the Khan's Tomb, the White, Red, Black Chambers and other structures.

A complex of architectural monuments of the XIII-XIV centuries on the territory of the Bulgar settlement

28. Sviyazhsky Assumption Monastery

The Sviyazhsky Assumption Monastery is located at the confluence of the Volga, Sviyaga and Pike rivers. It became an outpost for the conquest of Kazan by Russian troops. It became the spiritual and educational center of the missionary program developed by Tsar Ivan the Terrible. There is a complete cycle of frescoes from the era of Ivan the Terrible, and the St. Nicholas Refectory Church with a bell tower.

Assumption of the Virgin Monastery, Sviyazhsk

29. Temples of the Pskov architectural school

The UNESCO World Heritage Site in Pskov includes ten architectural religious monuments – churches and cathedrals, as well as part of the surrounding monastic structures, which represent the architectural style and decorative elements created by the Pskov Architectural School between the 12th century and the beginning of the 17th century.

Pskov-Pechersk Monastery. The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary and the belfry.

30. Struve geodetic arc

A chain of 265 stone cubes embedded in the ground, created in the first half of the 19th century on the initiative of astronomer Friedrich Struve in order to measure the size of the Earth. The arc stretches for 2,820 km across the territory of 10 European countries, from the north of Norway to the Black Sea. Today, 34 objects of the Struve Arc have been preserved, two of which are located in Russia on the island of Gogland (Baltic Sea). The site is included in the UNESCO World Heritage List from 10 countries: Norway, Sweden, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Belarus, Ukraine, Moldova and Russia.


March 19, 2024 03:41 pm



No comments yet. Your may be the first
Write a comment